top of page
  • Writer's pictureVoxPop

What They Said

Updated: Nov 22, 2018

by Samara Barrett


My great grandpa abused his kids----- but repented, and passed out an estimated 500,000 tracts.

My great grandma stole silverware from restaurants for fun----- she was struck by lightning, and lived to tell the story. Sometimes I wish I had been alive to hear the story from her.

They had two kids. My grandpa and his sister.

I never got to meet my grandpa’s sister----- she married a bank robber featured on America’s Most Wanted list.

My grandma and grandpa got pregnant with my mom at 17, and they wanted to abort her----- but they didn’t, and now they have 5 kids, and 10 grandkids.

My grandma was an alcoholic for a long time----- but she’s sober now.

When my mom was 17, my grandpa’s sister killed herself----- she was bipolar.

My grandpa is bipolar.

My mom’s sister is too.

They say it’s hereditary, but I pray some pieces aren’t.

I see the hurt in my family----- but I see the forgiveness too.

They say it’s much better to talk about redemption.

When people talk about inheritance they usually only talk about the good stuff. How I have my mother’s beautiful green eyes, or my grandma’s quiet demeanor, or my uncle’s humor. They don’t talk about how when I feel sad, it might be because depression is in my genes.

They tell me I need to be careful because of my family’s past, and I nod.

It’s not always fun to be careful.

Despite our individual messes, I like to think every generation learns to disappoint less.

I don’t mean disappoint others less, as much as I mean disappointing oneself less.

My parents defied the poor examples, and inevitable situations set before them, and maybe, I will too.

They say it’s hereditary, but maybe, I can change that.



Samara is a lover of all the stories and insights that words work to tell, and a freshman English major, with far too many other interests in life. Reading, writing, listening to music, and listening to people is where she most feels herself. She is unequivocally proud of being from central Massachusetts, and enthusiastic to see how God will put her far too many interests to work for His Kingdom.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page